Tanzania is a republic in the southeastern area of Africa.  Tanzania is northbound by Uganda, and Kenya, Mozambique, Malawi, and Zambia are to the south.  On the west is the Democratic Republic of Congo (formerly Zaire), Rwanda and Burundi. 


Tanzania is low and flat near the coast.  A plateau though is at an average altitude of about 4,000 feet which makes up most of the mainland.  Tanzania has 3 islands; Pemba, Zanzibar, and Mafia. 


The Tanzanian population is made up of more than 120 African tribes.  The weather in Tanzania is tropical and warm and the temperatures average near 80 Fahrenheit. 

Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania is the highest point in Africa.  It is also known for its beautiful waterfalls.  Tanzania is also known for Lake Victoria, Lake Nyasa, and Lake Tanganyika.  Tanzania is 364,900 square miles.